RICHARD NOTT HISTOLYSIS

banner

RICHARD NOTT HISTOLYSIS at MILLENNIUM

We request the pleasure of your company for the VIP preview of ‘Histolysis’ by Richard Nott

VIP preview – 7.00 – 7.30

General preview – 7.30 – 9.00

We look forward to seeing you if you are able to attend this exhibition which continues until 21st October.

View the online catalogue

Interview-1

Artist Statement:

Viewing the work is witnessing a protracted collision of processes. An evolution of matter. Exposed, concealed, exposed, concealed – continuously. The consequence of years spent. My history merging with the history of the elements used.

I have no interest in illusionistic ‘texture’ – the work must be its own entity – have its own story. Be its own statement. It is an organic object – a living thing.

Histolysis – tissue breaks down, material metamorphosis’s, through chaos and control. Destruction, erosion, decomposition – detritus leads to new creation. The work carves its own path, moved by forces beyond my hand and control, like rock moved by an unhurried glacier.

I would like to think that my paintings at their best, allow me to contemplate a cycle of existence. Not a beginning with an end but a journey where genesis leads to dissolution, and on once again to genesis. An ongoing sequence beyond mortal confines. Something eternal. Alchemy.
Richard Nott, 2014

M I L L E N N I U M

Street an Pol
St Ives
Cornwall
TR26 2DS

T: 44 (0) 1736 793121
E: mail@millenniumgallery.co.uk

www.millenniumgallery.co.uk

