Contemporary British Painting 2016


Welcome to the 2016 Contemporary British Painting Prize, run by artists for artists.

The Winning Artist will receive:

An intimate Five Painting Solo Exhibition at Swindon Museum and Art Gallery from May – June 2017 (Swindon’s permanent collection includes painting by Gillian Ayres, Howard Hodgkin, Tony Bevan, William Turnbull, Roger Hilton, Lisa Milroy, Ivon Hitchens, John Hoyland and David Bomberg)

A critical essay on their work by Paul O’Kane (member of the Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art and regular contributor to Art Monthly)

£2,000 purchase prize of their work which will then enter the Priseman Seabrook Collection of 21st Century British Painting.
The Contemporary British Painting Prize: Group Show
A painting show specially curated ‘peer to peer’. In this first year the group show will be held at:

The Riverside Gallery, Richmond Museum, London 10 September – 22 October 2016

Huddersfield Art Gallery 5 November – 28 January 2017 (whose collection includes one of Britain’s top 10 paintings – Francis Bacon’s Figure Study II as well as paintings by Atkinson Grimshaw, Frank Auerbach, L.S. LowreyWalter Sickert, Joan Eardley, Elizabeth Frink and Ian McKeever.)

Entry is £15 (+ £1 admin) non-refundable. Please make sure you have read the Terms & Conditions. Applications close midnight on Sunday 1 May 2016.

Follow us on  Twitter and  Facebook


Artists from across the UK who have a love of painting are invited to submit a selection of 5 images (these should be j-pegs, ideally no greater than 1MB each in size) of their more recent work (along with detail shots, so that the selectors can correctly understand the use of medium and ground) and a statement which outlines their practice to The Contemporary British Painting Prize.

This first round of submissions will then be assessed by a group of practising painters who include Simon Burton, Nathan Eastwood, Terry Greene, Susie Hamilton, Matthew Krishanu and Freya Purdue. From these submissions 15 artists will be invited to bring a single original work selected by the panel to help form The Contemporary British Painting Prize: Group Show.

A panel of critics and curators will then select a Prize Winner from the exhibited artists, with the winner being announced on the afternoon of the Private View, on Saturday 10th September between 11am – 1pm.

The Prize Winner selection panel judges include: Michael Peppiatt (owner and publisher of Art International 1985-1995 and since 2010 board member of the Palazzo delle Esposizioni, Rome), Amanda Geitner (Senior Curator of the Sainsbury Centre, 1998-2015 and Director East Anglian Art Fund), Paul O’Kane, Grant Scanlan (Huddersfield Art Gallery) and Sophie Cummings (Curator of Swindon Art Gallery and Museum).

Entries NOW OPEN and cost £15 (+ £1 admin)

Entries close on 1 May 2016

Announcement of Group Show Finalists on 30 May 2016

%d bloggers like this: